News & Events

HPCCR VP Chief Operating Officer Mike Bolewitz receives Leslie Carswell Leader of the Year Award


(Durham, NC) – April 3, 2017 – The Association for Home & Hospice Care of NC (AHHC) presented its 2017 HOME (Honoring Outstanding Merit & Excellence) Awards at the 45th Annual Conference & Expo at a ceremony sponsored by LHC Group. These awards recognize the excellence of individuals who are dedicated to promoting healing, extending life, and alleviating pain and suffering, all the while keeping families together and providing the greatest degree of freedom, independence, and dignity possible. These are the true heroes in home care, home health and hospice, who serve on the front line every day, encountering numerous challenges often with a smile on their face and a fierce determination to persevere on behalf of their patients. The Awards were presented by AHHC’s President and CEO, Tim Rogers. The recipients are as follows:

Caregiver of the Year: Janice Thompson, Health & Home Services

Volunteer of the Year: Doug Wahl, Lower Cape Fear Hospice

Carolyn Cusic Professional of the Year: Mairo Bori, BSN, RN, Duke HomeCare & Hospice

Physician of the Year: Laura Patel, MD, Transitions LifeCare

Nurse Aide of the Year: Nikki Granere, CNA, Four Seasons Compassion for Life

Leslie Carswell Leader of the Year: Michael Bolewitz, PharmD, MBA, CHPCA, Hospice & Palliative Care Charlotte Region

Agency Support Person of the Year: Carolyn Colsher, Duke HomeCare & Hospice

Paraprofessional of the Year: Pamra Blackwell, Interim Healthcare

Administrative Support Person of the Year: Lindsey Bradsher, Duke HomeCare & Hospice

Nominees for the HOME Awards are submitted annually and AHHC’s PR Committee has the important task of selecting the winners each year. Congratulations to all the nominees and to this year’s Award Recipients!

« Back